Blueberries and Apples! But in all seriousness folks (HAHAHA not!), this is the 50th anniversary of the release of Sgt Peppers Lonely hearts Club Band LP in 1967, and in all honesty I thought I would have a plethora of pre-written articles about it, or relating to it to post for you…

…but alas, the early summer has been so busy, I haven’t had the time – all this “doing the garden, digging the weeds” has been delightfully time consuming!

Now I haven’t much time today, always running late… but I thought at least I could share a few words on a day like today. I’ll add thoughts onto this post as time permits.. for now:

I can only add at the moment that I’d love to do a track by track review or retrospective of the original vs the Deluxe Remix, but it will have to wait…

Giles, a nice pick to do the remix, oversee the remix, etc. Paul approved the result, says Macca, in an interview (Q&A) very recently.

There’s so much to explore in Pepper, both the original, and every mix since then, I do highly recommend listening to all the versions according to your mood…

So what’s my favorite song on this album? Akkkkk the whole thing right? So, look… on the original I was never in love with the song “She’s Leaving Home” – honestly it was never a favorite of mine… I felt like it kind of bogged the progress of the album, and it was incredibly maudlin. BUT, I will say this, in the DeluxeRemix it gains a new status for me, it’s VERY beautiful and just really MUCH better now. And who can resist a harp?

Another massive improvement in the DeluxeRemix is in “Getting Better”… my gosh, Paul’s bass in that is phenomenal, and in the original and other mixes, it never stood out clearly from the mix in it’s proper place in STEREO, anyway, and I really enjoyed it in the Deluxe… it seems to be nicely present at approx 1 o’clock area, and it’s perfect. I love it.

We hope you will enjoy the show! What colour do you wear? @iconiclight has a real love for blue…

It’s all too much really, but hey… huh? What’s that? OH! There must be a real live Beatle in the room!!

Okay I could go on and on… but, just check it out!

IMG_20170601_125316

Wild!

 

 


Sources/references: The Beatles’ photos all via album art, tweets, The Beatles’ Twitter. etc. all merely shown for review purposes // The Apple Star illustration is from http://www.cometogetherkids.com/2012/09/the-story-of-apple-star.html // other illustrations for review purposes via google search – “Vinyl” and other related keywords, “blueberries” and iconiclight-related searches // all other inclusions are embeds as shown.

